Cluster nodegroups


Nodegroups are supported from NetScaler 10.1 onwards.

As the name indicates, a cluster nodegroup is a group of cluster nodes.

Figure 1. Citrix ADC cluster with nodegroups

localized image

The above figure shows a cluster which has nodegroups NG1 and NG2 that include 3 cluster nodes each. The cluster also has 3 nodes that are not part of any nodegroup.

A nodegroup can be configured for the following:

  • To define spotted and partially striped configurations. For more information, see “Nodegroups for Spotted and Partially-Striped Configurations”.
  • To configure redundancy of nodegroups. For more information, see “Configuring Redundancy for Nodegroups”. Note: Supported from NetScaler 10.5 Build 52.1115.e onwards.
  • To define an L3 cluster (also called a cluster in INC mode). In an L3 cluster, cluster nodes can be from different networks. You must group nodes that belong to a network in a single nodegroup. For example, if n1, n2, n3 are in network1 and n4, n5, n6 are in network2, then NG1 must include nodes of network1 and NG2 must include nodes of network2. For setting up an L3 cluster, see “Creating a Citrix ADC Cluster”.


  • Supported from NetScaler 11 onwards.
  • The above functions of a nodegroup are mutually exclusive. This means that a nodegroup can provide only one of the above mentioned functionality.
Cluster nodegroups