Customizing the Ethernet ports

A typical appliance has four Ethernet ports: two accelerated bridged ports, called accelerated pair A (apA.1 and apA.2), with a bypass (fail-to-wire) relay, and two unaccelerated motherboard ports, called Primary and Aux1. The bridged ports provide acceleration, while the motherboard ports are sometimes used for secondary purposes. Most installations use only the bridged ports.

Some SD-WAN units have only the motherboard ports. In this case, the two motherboard ports are bridged.

The appliance’s user interface can be accessed by a VLAN or non-VLAN network. You can assign a VLAN to any of the appliance’s bridged ports or motherboard ports for management purposes.

Figure 1. Ethernet Ports

localized image

Port List

The ports are named as follows:

Ethernet Port Name
Motherboard port 1 Primary (or apA.1 if no bypass card is present)
Motherboard port 2 Auxiliary1 or Aux1 (or apA.2 if no bypass card is present)
Bridge #1 Accelerated Pair A (apA, with ports apA.1 and apA.2)
Bridge #2 Accelerated Pair B (apB, with ports apB.1 and apB.2)

Table 1. Ethernet Port Names

Customizing the Ethernet ports